Skip to content
USDA designates 23 Mississippi counties...

USDA designates 23 Mississippi counties as primary natural disaster areas due to drought

By: Anne Summerhays - May 10, 2022

Eligible farmers in Mississippi, Louisiana, Arkansas, and Texas can apply for federal aid through December 8th.

In late April, the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) announced that farmers in four states that experienced drought during the growing season are eligible to apply for federal aid.

The USDA designated 23 Mississippi counties as primary natural disaster areas due to drought.

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the USDA Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loan funds may be used to:

  • Restore or replace essential property
  • Pay all or part of production costs associated with the disaster year
  • Pay essential family living expenses
  • Reorganize the family farming operation
  • Refinance certain non-real estate operating debts

“I appreciate the USDA’s effort to designate 23 counties as primary natural disaster areas in response to the drought that occurred last winter. This designation gives impacted farmers access to low interest, emergency loans,” said Agriculture and Commerce Commissioner Andy Gipson. “Additionally, livestock producers impacted by the drought may also qualify for the Livestock Forage Disaster Program. Farmers and producers should contact their local USDA Service Center for more information.”

Primary counties in Mississippi eligible for federal aid include:

  • Adams
  • Amite
  • Bolivar
  • Carroll
  • Claiborne
  • Coahoma
  • Franklin
  • Grenada
  • Hinds
  • Holmes
  • Humphreys
  • Issaquena
  • Jefferson
  • Leflore
  • Pike
  • Quitman
  • Sharkey
  • Sunflower
  • Tallahatchie
  • Warren
  • Washington
  • Wilkinson
  • Yazoo

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of: 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks, or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

The deadline to apply is December 8, 2022.

About the Author(s)
author profile image

Anne Summerhays

Anne Summerhays is a recent graduate of Millsaps College where she majored in Political Science, with minors in Sociology and American Studies. In 2021, she joined Y’all Politics as a Capitol Correspondent. Prior to making that move, she interned for a congressional office in Washington, D.C. and a multi-state government relations and public affairs firm in Jackson, Mississippi. While at Millsaps, Summerhays received a Legislative Fellowship with the Women’s Foundation of Mississippi where she worked with an active member of the Mississippi Legislature for the length of session. She has quickly established trust in the Capitol as a fair, honest, and hardworking young reporter. Her background in political science helps her cut through the noise to find and explain the truth. Email Anne: