Skip to content
Transportation Commissioners sworn in;...

Transportation Commissioners sworn in; Simmons elected chairman

By: Sarah Ulmer - January 3, 2024

Transportation Commissioners John Caldwell (left), Willie Simmons (center) and Charles Busby (right). (Photos provided by MDOT)

Former State Rep. Charles Busby joins returning Commissioners John Caldwell and Willie Simmons on the three-man board that oversees transportation resources and operations in Mississippi.

On Tuesday, Commissioners for the Mississippi Department of Transportation (MDOT) were sworn in to office for a new four-year term.

Returning are Northern District Commissioner John Caldwell (R) and Central District Commissioner Willie Simmons (D). Both Caldwell and Simmons are entering their second terms.

New to the board is Southern District Commissioner Charles Busby (R). Busby, who previously served as a State Representatives and chairman of the House Transportation Committee, replaces Tom King who chose not to seek re-election in 2023.

At the Commission’s first meeting, Simmons, also a former legislator, was elected chairman by the Commission.

“It is such an honor to be elected chairman of the Mississippi Transportation Commission at this pivotal time in our state’s transportation history,” said Simmons, who served in the State Senate for over 26 years. “I look forward to ensuring this commission continues to move our infrastructure system in the right direction while meeting the needs of public safety and fostering economic growth in all areas of our great state.” 

MDOT Executive Director Brad White praised Simmons’ selection, saying in a statement that Commissioner Simmons was the right choice for Commission chairman “by virtue of his proven track record of leadership along with his deep understanding of our state’s transportation needs.”

“I am confident with his leadership the Commission will support MDOT staff in continuing to drive innovation, enhance our state’s infrastructure and ensure a safer and more efficient future for Mississippi communities,” White said.

The Transportation Commission oversees transportation resources and operations for Mississippi. Commissioners have the authority and responsibility for the supervision of all modes of transportation in the state dealing with aeronautics, highways, ports, public transit and railroads. In accordance with state law, the Commission is responsible for planning, developing and coordinating a comprehensive, balanced intermodal transportation policy for the state.

The Commission meets on the second and fourth Tuesday of each month at its offices in Jackson.

About the Author(s)
author profile image

Sarah Ulmer

Sarah is a Mississippi native, born and raised in Madison. She is a graduate of Mississippi State University, where she studied Communications, with an emphasis in Broadcasting and Journalism. Sarah’s experience spans multiple mediums, including extensive videography with both at home and overseas, broadcasting daily news, and hosting a live radio show. In 2017, Sarah became a member of the Capitol Press Corp in Mississippi and has faithfully covered the decisions being made by leaders on some of the most important issues facing our state. Email Sarah:
Previous Story
Next Story