Skip to content
Congressional qualifying ends in...

Congressional qualifying ends in Mississippi. See who’s running for Congress in 2022.

By: Frank Corder - March 2, 2022

Every incumbent U.S. Representative in the state will have a Primary and General Election challenge.

Heading into the 2022 midterms, it was assumed the most robust contest in the cycle would be in South Mississippi’s 4th Congressional District. That is still the case. However, with the qualifying period now closed, all of the state’s U.S. Representatives drew Primary challengers and all four will have an opponent in the November General Election.

The Primary Election is June 7th, and the General Election is November 8th.

Based on the candidates who have qualified in the short Primary Election season, the incumbents in the 1st, 2nd and 3rd Congressional Districts remain the odds-on favorites to win their Primary and then win re-election in the General Election. Those incumbents are Trent Kelly (R), Bennie Thompson (D), and Michael Guest (R), respectively.

In the 4th Congressional District, Republican incumbent Steven Palazzo has the tallest task if he is to win a seventh term. There are six GOP challengers, and at least two have reasonable name ID and campaign networks, making the possibility of a run-off more likely than not. Although, recent internal polling from the Palazzo campaign has shown him with a sizeable lead in both name ID and favorability.

The 2022 midterms will be the first elections held under the new Congressional Districts drawn by the Mississippi Legislature. The new maps were adopted in January and signed into law by Governor Tate Reeves soon thereafter.

Below is a list of who is running in each of Mississippi’s Congressional Districts along with a district rating by party:

1st District – Safe Republican


  • Trent Kelly – incumbent
  • Mark David Strauss


  • Hunter Avery
  • Dianne Black

2nd District – Safe Democrat


  • Michael Carson
  • Ronald Eller
  • Brian Flowers
  • Stanford Johnson


  • Bennie Thompson – incumbent
  • Jerry Kerner

3rd District – Safe Republican


  • Michael Guest – incumbent
  • Michael Cassidy
  • Thomas Griffin


  • Rahim Talley
  • Shuwaski Young

4th District – Safe Republican


  • Steven Palazzo – incumbent
  • Carl Boyanton
  • Raymond Brooks
  • Mike Ezell
  • Kidron Peterson
  • Clay Wagner
  • Brice Wiggins


  • Johnny DuPree
  • David Sellers


  • Alden Patrick Johnson
About the Author(s)
author profile image

Frank Corder

Frank Corder is a native of Pascagoula. For nearly two decades, he has reported and offered analysis on government, public policy, business and matters of faith. Frank’s interviews, articles, and columns have been shared throughout Mississippi as well as in national publications such as the Daily Caller. He is a frequent guest on radio and television, providing insight and commentary on the inner workings of the Magnolia State. Frank has served his community in both elected and appointed public office, hosted his own local radio and television programs, and managed private businesses all while being an engaged husband and father. Email Frank: