Skip to content
Senate confirms College Board members

Senate confirms College Board members

By: Magnolia Tribune - April 11, 2008

With little discussion, the Mississippi Senate this morning confirmed four new members of the state College Board. The appointees include C.D. Smith Jr. of Meridian, Dr. Douglas Rouse of Hattiesburg, Alan Perry of Jackson and Christy Pickering of Biloxi — all nominated by Gov. Haley Barbour.

The Senate Universities and Colleges Committee approved all four candidates this week.

College Board members are appointed to 10-year terms and though they are volunteers, they are paid $40 per day for meeting days and mileage expenses.

The term of the four new members will begin in May.

About the Author(s)
author profile image

Magnolia Tribune

This article was produced by Magnolia Tribune staff.