Skip to content
Special election for Senate District 17...

Special election for Senate District 17 draws 4 candidates #MSleg

By: Magnolia Tribune - September 30, 2014

Four have qualified for Dist. 17 seat

Four candidates have qualified for the District 17 seat in the Mississippi State Senate.

Bill “Doc” Canon qualified 12 days ago, while Bill Gavin, Bobby Patrick and Chuck Younger filed last week.

The deadline to qualify is Oct. 6.

The winner of the race will replace the late Terry Brown in next year’s legislative session. Brown died Sept. 4 after a battle with cancer. The term expires at the end of 2015.

Columbus Dispatch

About the Author(s)
author profile image

Magnolia Tribune

This article was produced by Magnolia Tribune staff.