Skip to content
Sen. Kenneth Wayne Jones Elected to...

Sen. Kenneth Wayne Jones Elected to Second Term as Chairman of Mississippi Legislative Black Caucus

By: Magnolia Tribune - February 5, 2014

In a highly unprecedented move, the Mississippi Legislative Black Caucus has re-elected Senator Kenneth Wayne Jones as its chairman for the 2014-2016 term.

The Caucus elects officers every two years.

As its chairman, Senator Jones has led the Caucus fight against issues such as Voter ID, preserving the 13th retirement check of state employees, increasing teacher pay and seeking raises for state employees. In addition, Senator Jones has been vocal on full funding of public education, and expansion of Medicaid under the Affordable Care Act.

“I’m honored and humbled that my colleagues once again have placed their confidence in me,” Senator Jones said. “I continue to seek solutions to problems addressing all Mississippians.”

Also elected as officers for the 2014-2016 term:

Vice President – Representative Earl Banks
Treasurer – Senator Robert Jackson
Secretary – Representative Sara Thomas
Chaplain – Representative Tyrone Ellis
Parliamentarian – Adrienne Wooten

State Senate Press Release

About the Author(s)
author profile image

Magnolia Tribune

This article was produced by Magnolia Tribune staff.
Previous Story
Next Story