Skip to content
Mississippi’s Presidential,...

Mississippi’s Presidential, Congressional Primary Sample Ballot Now Available

By: Sarah Ulmer - January 23, 2024

Voters will head to the polls on March 12th in the Magnolia State to choose their party’s nominees.

The Mississippi Secretary of State’s office has made public the 2024 sample ballot for the coming Democratic and Republican Presidential and Congressional Primary elections.

Republican Sample Ballot

On the Republican sample ballot appears four names for President:

  • Ron DeSantis
  • Nikki R. Haley
  • Vivek Ramaswamy
  • Donald J. Trump

The Secretary of State’s office noted that while Ramaswamy and DeSantis have both suspended their campaigns, they have not filed the necessary paperwork in Mississippi to withdraw as required by Miss. Code Ann. Section 23-15-1095. Both candidates were notified about the requirement, the office said.

Other major offices up for consideration include incumbent U.S. Senator Roger Wicker’s current Senate seat in which he has been challenged by Ghannon Burton and Dan Eubanks in the Republican Primary.

The 2nd Congressional District primary features Ron Eller, Andrew Scott Smith, and Taylor Turcotte, while the 4th Congressional District race will be between incumbent Congressman Mike Ezell, Carl Boyanton, and Michael McGill.

Both incumbent Congressmen Michael Guest of the 3rd District and Trent Kelly of the 1st District are up for re-election but are running unopposed in their GOP primaries.

Democratic Sample Ballot

As of now, current President Joseph R. Biden Jr. will run unopposed as the Democratic nominee for President in the party’s primary.

Ty Pinkins is running unopposed for the Democratic nomination for U.S. Senate.

For the U.S. House of Representatives 1st Congressional District seat, Dianne Black and Bronco Williams are running to be the nominee, while Craig Elliot Rayborn is vying for the 4th Congressional District seat unopposed in the Democratic primary.

Jarvis Gordan had qualified for the 3rd Congressional District but has since withdrawn.

Congressman Bennie Thompson is running unopposed in the primary for the 2nd Congressional District.

For the Voters

The party primary elections will take place on March 12, with a runoff scheduled for April 2nd if necessary.

The 2024 General Election is set for November 5th.

Polls are open on election days in Mississippi from 7:00 a.m. until 7:00 p.m.

Mississippi voters who plan to vote by absentee for the state’s primary can access a ballot as early as January 29th.  In order to vote in the state’s primary, voters must be registered by February 12, exactly 30 days prior to the primary election.

Voters must present a valid form of photo identification in order to cast a ballot at their assigned polling location.

Find out more about what you should know prior to heading to the polls at

About the Author(s)
author profile image

Sarah Ulmer

Sarah is a Mississippi native, born and raised in Madison. She is a graduate of Mississippi State University, where she studied Communications, with an emphasis in Broadcasting and Journalism. Sarah’s experience spans multiple mediums, including extensive videography with both at home and overseas, broadcasting daily news, and hosting a live radio show. In 2017, Sarah became a member of the Capitol Press Corp in Mississippi and has faithfully covered the decisions being made by leaders on some of the most important issues facing our state. Email Sarah: