Skip to content
2018 Federal Races: Who is running for...

2018 Federal Races: Who is running for the Democrats and GOP?

By: Sarah Ulmer - March 2, 2018

Qualifying deadline to be part of the 2018 Federal races was on Thursday, March 1. Here is a comprehensive list of the Mississippi individuals for the Democratic and Republican party and what race they have entered.

For the GOP: 

United States Senate

Richard Boyanton of Bay St. Louis

Chris McDaniel of Ellisville

Roger Wicker of Pontotoc

United States House of Representatives

District 1

Trent Kelly of Saltillo

District 2

No Republicans qualified by the deadline.

District 3

Sally Doty of Brookhaven

Morgan Dunn of Simpson County

Michael Guest of Madison County

Whit Hughes of Jackson

Perry Parker of Seminary

Katherine “Bitzy” Tate of Jackson

District 4

Steven Palazzo of Gulfport

E. Brian Rose of Ocean Springs

For the Democrats: 

For the United States Senate:
David Baria of Bay St. Louis

Jensen Bohren of Benton

Jerone Garland of Kosciusko

Victor G. Maurice, Jr. of Pass Christian

Omeria Scott of Laurel

Howard Sherman of Meridian

For House District 1:

Randy Wadkins of Oxford

For House District 2:

Bennie G. Thompson of Bolton

For House District 3:

Kevin Michael Aycox of Newton

Michael Ted Evans of Preston

For House District 4:

Jeramey Anderson of Moss Point

About the Author(s)
author profile image

Sarah Ulmer

Sarah is a Mississippi native, born and raised in Madison. She is a graduate of Mississippi State University, where she studied Communications, with an emphasis in Broadcasting and Journalism. Sarah’s experience spans multiple mediums, including extensive videography with both at home and overseas, broadcasting daily news, and hosting a live radio show. In 2017, Sarah became a member of the Capitol Press Corp in Mississippi and has faithfully covered the decisions being made by leaders on some of the most important issues facing our state. Email Sarah: