Skip to content
Seven seek Clark’s post

Seven seek Clark’s post

By: Magnolia Tribune - May 29, 2007

The Clarion-Ledger Editorial, 5/27/7

Mississippi voters rarely choose a new secretary of state. Since 1900, only seven Mississippians have held the post of secretary of state – including current Secretary of State Eric Clark, who is stepping down from the office after 12 years in office.

The average tenure in the office for those seven officials is just over 15 years. The late Heber Ladner held the post for 32 years from 1948 to 1980.

About the Author(s)
author profile image

Magnolia Tribune

This article was produced by Magnolia Tribune staff.